International Science & Maths Olympiad Student Teams Named

< BACK TO EDUCATION starstarstarstarstar   People - Education Press Release
28th May 2010, 07:00am - Views: 1116

People Education Australian Mathematics Trust 1 image

People Education Australian Mathematics Trust 2 image


Embargoed until 1 June 2010 


The ten students who will represent Australia at the 2010 International Mathematical Olympiad

(IMO) and the International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) will be announced on Tuesday 1 June.

Professor Penny Sackett, Chief Scientist for Australia, will present the teams with their blazers at a

special ceremony in Parliament House, Canberra.

Hosted by a different country each year, the 2010 IMO will take place at Astana in Kazakhstan 

from 2 -14 July 2010 and the IOI at Waterloo, Ontario, Canada from 14 - 21 August 2010. The IMO

is the pinnacle of competition between students of pre-University level from around the world and

the premier international competition in mathematics for secondary school students globally. 

The IMO commenced in 1959 and is the oldest and largest of the Olympiads. Australia has entered

for the past 29 years.  This is the 22nd IOI and Australia has participated since 1999.  Last year, 

the Mathematics team won two gold; one silver and one bronze medal with one honourable

mention, securing 23rd place out of a record 104 participating countries. The Informatics team

secured three bronze medals, with 300 students from 85 countries competing in the IOI, which is

the second biggest Olympiad. 

The training and selection for the Mathematics and Informatics teams is conducted by the 

not-for-profit Australian Mathematics Trust, which administers and is responsible for all aspects of

Australia’s participation in these two Olympiad programs. 

Professor Peter Taylor, the Trust’s Executive Director, said, “The International Olympiads bring

together especially talented young people from a variety of countries and backgrounds, enabling

them to share both scientific and cultural experiences. The success of our teams also raises

Australia’s international profile in maths and computer science, ultimately contributing to the

advance of technology”.

Prior to the competition, the IMO team will train for a few days in Astana with the British team.

Their final training exam there will be the third official annual competition for the Mathematics

Ashes, currently held by Britain.

The Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research is a sponsor and the program is

also supported by the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers and the Australian

Mathematical Society.  The Australian team members are:

Mathematics - Astana (Kazakhstan), 2-14 July 2010

Aaron Chong

Doncaster Secondary College


Timothy Large

Sydney Grammar School


Stacey Law

James Ruse Agricultural High School


Kiho Park

Mount Waverley Secondary College


David Vasak

Sydney Grammar School


Sampson Wong 

James Ruse Agricultural High School


Informatics – Waterloo, Ontario (Canada), 14 - 21 August 2010

Luke Harrison

Normanhurst High School


Evgeny Martynov

James Ruse Agricultural High School


Robert Newey

Cobar High School


Kenneth Wong

James Ruse Agricultural High School


For more information visit or for photos and interviews, please contact:.

Professor Peter Taylor, Australian Mathematics Trust,, 02 6201 2440; 0412 258 699 

Jan Collins, Australian Mathematics Trust,, 02 6201 2954; 0415 922 433

Dr Angelo Di Pasquale, (IMO Team Leader) (03) 8344 4306; 0402 383 248

Bernard Blackham (IOI Team Leader) 0402 291 684

Or visit

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article