National Award Ceremony In Canberra For Our Future Leading Mathematicians

< BACK TO EDUCATION starstarstarstarstar   People - Education Press Release
13th November 2009, 11:01am - Views: 585

11 November 2009


Canberra Hosts National Award Ceremony for 

Australia’s Leading Future Mathematicians

The Australian Mathematics Trust will hold an awards presentation ceremony for the 32nd

annual Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC) and the Australian Informatics

Competition (AIC) on Friday, 13 November 2009 at the Shine Dome at 11am.

Professor Kurt Lambeck, President, Australian Academy of Science, will present

awards to the 26 Australian AMC medallists, including Jesse An who is in Year 7 at

Belconnen High School and Tam Le, a Year 10 student at Lyneham High School. 

Both these medallists also won Prudence Awards for achieving the highest number

of consecutive correct responses in their schools.

Professor Taylor, Executive Director of the Trust, will present the Peter O'Halloran Award

to two medallists who achieved perfect scores.

Several hundred thousand entrants from schools across 42 countries entered this year’s 

competition and only 71 medals have been awarded globally to approximately the top 0.01% of 

the students who sat the AMC.

The AMC is the major mathematics school enrichment event in the South Pacific region. In each

division of the competition, a limited number of medals are awarded for performances that are

outstanding both within a state or country and overall in the Competition. 

Professor Taylor, Executive Director of the not-for-profit Australian Mathematics Trust that runs

the AMC, said, “The AMC aims to encourage students of all standards in their study of

mathematics. It sets out to demonstrate how mathematics can be used in the world around

them via problem solving using the skills students learn in the classroom. The AMC has also

been useful in identifying talented students such as these and the results are used for inviting

students into more advanced mathematical enrichment programs.” 

“In fact, Australia’s leading Mathematicians under the age of 40 were discovered and

developed as a result of their participation in the AMC”, he concluded.

Prizes are awarded to approximately the top 0.3% of students sitting the AMC in each year

group within each Australian State or Overseas Country.  A total of approximately 1500

prizes are distributed globally. There are 719 Australian prizewinners this year. 

Professor Frances Shannon, Pro Vice- Chancellor, University of Canberra will present 13 prize

certificates and cheques to the local AMC prizewinners and awards to nine Canberra students

who attained High Distinctions in the Australian Informatics Competition (AIC). 



2 - 

The University of Canberra and the Canberra Mathematical Association in Australia are

supporting sponsors of the AMC.

Photo opportunity:


Special award ceremony for the 2009 Australian Mathematics

Competition medallists and prizewinners and Australian Informatics

Competition award winners. 


Friday, 13 November 2009, 11am –12pm, followed by lunch.


Shine Dome , Gordon Street, Canberra.

For further information or to arrange interviews, please contact: 


Professor Peter Taylor, Executive Director, Australian Mathematics Trust, 0412 258 699

Suzanne Fraser, Manager, Australian Mathematics Trust, 0437 670 610

news articles logo NEWS ARTICLES
Contact News Articles |Remove this article